Mental Health Alliance of Porter County Recognizes Award Winners.

On Thursday, September 20, the Mental Health Alliance, comprised of Mental Health America of Porter County, Porter-Starke Serivces and the Porter-Starke Services Foundation, recognized several people with awards for their work in promoting health and mental wellness in the community.

Judge Kim Hall of the Starke County Circuit Court was awarded the Aled P. Davies Award for Public Policy on Health. Charles Johnson of the Aliveness Project received the Patient Care and Advocacy Award. David Mika and Courtney Fokianos, both of BMO Harris Bank, accepted the Porter-Starke Award for Service to Community Mental Health. Michael Perry of Midwest Center for Youth & Families received the Robert A. Anderson Award for Community Education and Service. The Friend of Mental Health America Award was given to Donna Flanagin of Flanagin's Bulk Mail Service.?

Other award recipients were John Peyton with the Mental Health America Award for Distinguished Service; Dee Haklin with the Gale C. Corley President's Award; and Chris Campbell with the Porter-Starke Services Foundation's Community Impact Award.

Marilyn Buehrle was recognized as the United Way Volunteer of the Year Award Winner.

"All of the award recipients do a lot of great work for us behind-the-scenes," said Rocky Schiralli, President/CEO of Porter-Starke Services. "It's important that we publicly recognize their work and service to others," said Schiralli.

"We appreciate all that others do for our organizations, our clients and our community," said Mary Hodson, Executive Director of Mental Health America of Porter County. "I'm happy we spent this evening to celebrate them."

The Mental Health Alliance meets annually to celebrate and recognize efforts by individuals and groups on the health of the community. The meeting was held at The Legacy Banquet Hall in Valparaiso, Indiana. Each participating organization held abbreviated board meetings to announce and vote on its slate of officers for the upcoming year before awards were distributed.?